RSS

Hello world!

27 Apr

Hey everyone!

The handy dandy blog prompter suggested that I use this first post to tell everyone what my blog is about, and why I am writing it, so here we go!

As of tomorrow, I leave Canada and begin my epic European adventure! I shall be spending the next three months in Germany, and then will hop on over to Scotland in August for the Worlds Pipeband Championships. I have had a number of awesome, lovely people request updates on my activities, so I figure that this will be a good place for me to record everything. Of course my dad pointed out that I used to own a shirt saying “Nobody cares about your blog,” but if no one else enjoys reading it, at least I have it to look at six months from now when I’m missing Germany terribly.

So for an update on what is in my near future, I will be arriving in Frankfurt on April 29th. I signed up for a Work Student Program (WSP) months ago, and they have helped me in my search for a job in Germany. When I arrive in Frankfurt, I will meet with the WSP group, and will then be taken on a bus to Bonn for an orientation on how to manage working in Germany. I don’t really know what that consists of yet, but I shall soon find out! On May 2nd, my boyfriend Sebastien will drive to Bonn and whisk me off to Berlin!

To make the blog more interesting, here is a picture of Sebastien and me! Yay! Taken by Halcyon Coast Photography

As for my job situation, I don’t have anything firmly in place yet…there is potential for a job at a McDonald’s in Berlin, but it will be a little while until I find out how/if/when/where it will pan out. (Look at me – giving you just enough information that now you’re hooked and must read my next blog to find out more!)

I’m having a hard time believing that it is officially less than 24 hours until I get on the plane…I’m extremely excited, but rather nervous too! I had an amazing six weeks in Europe last summer, and can hardly wait to get back there and reconnect with the amazing people I met. This summer, I am hoping to get a firm grasp on the German language. I’ve tried hard to practice throughout the school year, but I still have a far way to go. I expect a few embarrassing incidents, particularly if I do find a job at which I am expected to speak German, but that’s probably the best way for me to learn!

But first things first – I shall now go to bed, and then spend the entirety of tomorrow’s flight reading German vocabulary. Actually, I’ll probably be reading the Hunger Games…either way, very exciting stuff!

Anyway, thank you so much for reading! Keep your eyes out for more exhilarating blogs to come!

Auf Wiedersehen!

-Robyn

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2012 in Travel and Working Abroad

 

2 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress

    April 27, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

     
  2. Clinton Robert Charles McColman

    April 28, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    So far, so awesome. I admire your sense of adventure and optimism Robyn, life was meant to be lived fully and it’s great to see your intrepid style taking shape. Good luck, and keep up the writing while you’re there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
