RSS

Off to Explore the European Working World

21 Aug

Hey there!

For those of you that know me, you will probably know that my European adventure is fast approaching. By 7:30pm tomorrow, I will be on a plane headed to Berlin, Germany, in preparation of my beginning work as an assistant English teacher. I have been anticipating this adventure for so long, that I can hardly believe the time is finally here!

Writing this is bringing back a ton of memories to the very first time I wrote for this blog. It was about 11pm the day before I took off to Germany for 3 months, and I figured that it would be a great way to record all of my adventures. I have learned a lot of things since that first trip: for one thing, a three month trip is extremely different from going to Germany for 5 weeks. I had never realized how proud I was of being a Canadian until I was away from home for that long. I also missed home more than I expected to, although the experience was definitely amazing. I have also learned that, for me to finally speak German flawlessly, I have to stop allowing people to talk to me in English. Last year I kept expecting my language skills to magically improve themselves, but it is definitely going to take some intense work! And most importantly, I learned that there are a fair amount of people that enjoy reading all about my adventures. I thank you all so much for encouraging me to continue writing, and I strive to create something worth your time!

Sebastien and I inside the Berliner Dom :)

Sebastien and I inside the Berliner Dom 🙂

This time, as I am going for 9 months, I am quite nervous…it sure is a long time to be away from home with no visits! But I’m enjoying this moment of not knowing what exactly is to come, and looking forward to the moment when I look back and see how much I’ve learned. Never stop growing, right?

But anyhow, let me fill you in on what I do know at this point! I will be working at a High School in Germany, which teaches students from grades 7-12. I imagine I will be working with the older kids, who could enjoy hearing someone with a Canadian accent instead of a German one. I am bringing both my bagpipes and my smallpipes to Germany, and may use my big bagpipes as a threatening tool whenever the class gets out of hand. “Settle down, or so help me I’ll play a tune!” I’ve also been taking pictures of various Canadian things throughout this summer to show the students: playing with my pipebands, working at the Stampede,and driving through the mountains. My job will require an hour-long commute there and back, every day, during which time I intend on reading my heart out. I’m bringing lots of books with me, and once I finish them I would love to attempt to read a few German children’s books.

Me playing my lovely new smallpipes :)

Me playing my lovely new smallpipes 🙂

I arrive in Berlin on August 23rd, and on the 25th Sebastien and I will begin driving to Cologne (Köln). We will be making a stop at the Köln Zoo, where we can check out the awesome hippos there (in case you didn’t know, they’re my favourite animal!) On the 26th I will meet up with a group of people also participating in the P.A.D program, and we will be transported from the Köln Central Station to a spot near Bonn, where we will have orientation for 2 days. I really hope I am able to find the group, instead of wandering by them aimlessly three times like I did with my group last year. On the 28th, I will take a train back to Berlin, as long as I do not end up hopelessly lost. And on August 30th, the real work begins!

I am really excited for when I form a routine with my job, and know what is what. I would love to take a German course if I can this year, perhaps through a program at Sebastien’s university. I would also love to visit a few other places if I get the chance, such as Portugal and perhaps the UK. It would be awesome if I could attend a bagpiping competition in Scotland at some point, although I am not bringing a uniform with me so that would be a bit of a gongshow.

Besides that, I am certainly excited for all of my visitors! My mom is planning on visiting me in November, and my dad in March. A few piping friends will likely pay me a visit in December, so I’m looking forward to that! I’ve had a fantastic summer at home, playing with both the Cochrane Pipeband and the Rocky Mountain Pipeband – it makes me hesitant to leave, but as my various friends are going back to school in Victoria or beginning their big-kid jobs in the real world, I’m getting more and more excited to begin this adventure.

Me showing off Canadian culture :)

Me showing off Canadian culture 🙂

Well, there you go. A taste of what is to come, and hopefully enough to keep you interested!

Bis später,

Robyn

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2013 in Travel and Working Abroad

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Off to Explore the European Working World

  1. Christine

    August 22, 2013 at 2:50 am

    Auf Wiedersehen and have fun Robyn!

     

Leave a Reply

 
